Huh?

I saw two things today that struck me as a little bizarre.  First, I saw a woman riding double on the back of her son’s scooter on the way to school this morning.  And I’m not talking about the motorized scooters, either.  No, this was your garden variety stand-on-it-and-push-off scooter.  I didn’t know you could get a kid and an adult (?) on one of those things!  Then later in the afternoon I saw a woman in a long sleeve blouse, black pants, and heels ride by on a beach cruiser bike.  Not so very bizarre perhaps except that it was about 88 degrees and humid.  I think the natives must run on a different thermostat than I do.

It was a busy week.  We attended the Christ Church / expat pig roast on Sunday.  It was warm and sunny, the kids were all doing their best to splash all the water out of the pool, and the BBQ was very authentic.  I almost forgot I was in France.  Then we hosted seven of Kate’s former (US) co-workers for dinner on Tuesday night.  They were all over here for the week-long Michelin global supply chain conference.  Wednesday Kate was at Michelin functions from 8am to 10pm, including a “team building” rugby event at the stadium where the local (2010 national champion) team plays.  Tomorrow is Sarah’s end-of-school presentation / dinner / dance.  I understand it’s a big deal.  It even has a name: kermesse.  The program that Sarah brought home says “only the water guns supplied by the school during the kermesse are authorized for use.”  Should I be worried?

This is a WW II memorial near Sarah’s school.  I took this picture a while ago (obviously) but it never really fit with anything so I didn’t post it.  We’ll be wearing significantly lighter clothing tomorrow when we’re there.  Maybe I can sneak in a contraband water balloon or two.

Leave a comment